Dreams Change

When I was in the 4th grade, I went to my FAVORITE place in the world at the time (…the library, of course!) and borrowed a book on sewing for kids. I remember the whirring of my mom’s sewing machine, her little desk on the side of her bed, and watching her mend and hem her own (and our) clothes. My mom made a copy of that book for me because you could practice sewing lines and curves on the pages of that wonderful wonderful book. I wish I knew the title, but that is the first moment I remember realizing I loved working with my hands. 

Over the past few years, my dreams have changed. Now maybe, the stresses and politics of being a teacher have worn me down, but I slowly feel my passion and enthusiasm towards teaching gently weaning. I can even say my dreams have changed within the past few months. I’ve been seesawing between continuing with teaching or quitting to pursue art. I’m still not at a point where I have made a decision, but an idea has been implanted in my mind. I haven’t quite worked up the courage to take a leap of faith, but if any time is a good time, this would probably be the best. 

My craft dreams have changed with everything too. Trying to figure out what to focus my efforts on is difficult. I’m a bit ADD and interested in almost anything. I love trying new things in the world of crafting and I’m constantly seeking to find my little niche. Sewing , knitting, crocheting, painting, water-coloring, drawing, clay working, felting, beading/jewelry making, screenprinting, and most currently, card making, calligraphy, graphic arts/design, and lettering. 

With Christmas and Valentines Day past, I have decided to take off some time from card making to learn more and work on other new things. I’d like to take some time off to learn a few new things, practice others, pick my camera back up, and find a vision for this blog. I’m not sure how long, but I’ll know when I know. Dreams may change, but goals get done. Let the goal setting and doing begin! 

Leave a Reply

